Town of East Hampton Town Council Organizational Meeting Tuesday, November 6, 2019 High School T-Bell

Minutes

Present: Council Members Pete Brown, Tim Feegel, Derek Johnson, Dean Markham, Barbara Moore, Mark Philhower and Kevin Reich. Also present were Town Manager David Cox and Town Clerk Kelly Bilodeau.

Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance

Town Clerk Kelly Bilodeau called the organizational meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. in the High School T-Bell. All stood to recite the Pledge of Allegiance.

Administer the Oath of Office to All Newly Elected Town Officials

Ms. Bilodeau administered the oath of office to the following newly elected town officials:

Town Council: Pete Brown, Tim Feegel, Derek Johnson, Dean Markham, Barbara Moore, Mark Philhower and Kevin Reich

Board of Finance: Matthew Bennington, Wesley Jenks and Eric Peterson

Board of Education: Nancy Oakley and Jim Radavich

Election of Chairperson

A motion was made by Mr. Markham, seconded by Mr. Philhower, to nominate Pete Brown as Chairman. Voted (7-0).

Election of Vice Chairperson

A motion was made by Ms. Moore, seconded by Mr. Philhower, to nominate Dean Markham as Vice Chairman. Voted (7-0).

Adoption of Rules & Procedures (Robert's Rules)

A motion was made by Mr. Markham, seconded by Mr. Reich, to add an item to the agenda to adopt rules of procedure for Town Meetings. Voted (7-0)

A motion was made by Mr. Markham, seconded by Mr. Reich, that this Town Council adopt the "Town of East Hampton CT Town Council By-Laws" as adopted by Council on January 12, 2016 and re-adopted January 9, 2018 and Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised 11th Edition, to govern its operations and Parliamentary Procedure. Voted (7-0).

Adoption of Rules & Procedures for Town Meetings

A motion was made by Mr. Markham, seconded by Ms. Moore, that Roberts Rules of Order Newly Revised 11th Edition, be adopted to govern its operations and Parliamentary Procedure of Town Meetings. Voted (7-0)

Adoption of Regular Meeting Dates

A motion was made by Mr. Markham, seconded by Mr. Philhower, to adopt the 2nd and 4th Tuesday for Town Council meetings. Voted (7-0).

Appointment of Two (2) Town Meeting Moderators

A motion was made by Mr. Markham, seconded by Mr. Philhower to appoint Robert "Red" McKinney as the Democratic Moderator and Steve Greco as the Republican Moderator for Town Meetings.

Town Manager Comments

Mr. Cox congratulated the newly elected officials and thanked them on behalf of the community for their willingness to serve. The staff is ready to assist the boards to work together as a community to move East Hampton forward.

Chairman Brown commented that it is a privilege to serve and we have a great board and will do great things for the Town. He thanked everyone for running.

Adjournment:

A motion was made by Mr. Reich, seconded by Ms. Moore to adjourn the meeting at 6:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cathy Sirois Recording Secretary