Town of East Hampton Town Council Organizational Meeting Tuesday, November 14, 2017 Town Hall Meeting Room

Minutes

Present: Council Members Pete Brown, Melissa Engel, Tim Feegel, Dean Markham, Mark Philhower, Josh Piteo and Kevin Reich. Also present were Town Manager Michael Maniscalco and Town Clerk Sandra Wieleba.

Call to Order and Pledge of Allegiance

Town Clerk Sandra Wieleba called the organizational meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. All stood to recite the Pledge of Allegiance.

<u>Administer the Oath of Office to Town Council Members Not Already Sworn</u> <u>In – Town Clerk</u>

Ms. Wieleba administered the oath of office to Mr. Brown and Mr. Feegel. The other members were sworn in on November 8^{th} .

Election of Chairperson

A motion was made by Mr. Philhower, seconded by Mr. Markham, to nominate Melissa Engel as Chairperson. Voted (7-0).

Election of Vice Chairperson

A motion was made by Mr. Feegel, seconded by Mr. Brown, to nominate Mark Philhower as Vice Chairman. Voted (7-0).

Adoption of Rules & Procedures (Robert's Rules)

A motion was made by Mr. Brown, seconded by Mr. Philhower, to adopt Robert's Rules of Order 11^{th} Edition. Voted (7-0).

Adoption of Regular Meeting Dates

A motion was made by Mr. Philhower, seconded by Mr. Piteo, to adopt the 2nd and 4th Tuesday, with no meeting on the 4th Tuesday of August, for Town Council meetings. Voted (7-0).

Appointment of Two (2) Town Meeting Moderators

The Democratic Moderator will be Red McKinney. The Republican Moderator will be Steve Greco.

<u>Town Manager Comments</u>

Mr. Maniscalco welcomed and congratulated the new Town Council members. He is pleased to be moving forward with the new Police/Town Hall/Board of Education facility on time and under budget. Other items that will be worked on will be infrastructure, roads, water, the lake, smart growth through EDC to grow the grand list, and working with the Middle Haddam Association and the Village Center. The town staff is ready to work with the new Council.

1

Proclamation for Yellow Ribbon Ceremony

A motion was made by Mr. Brown, seconded by Mr. Philhower, to approve a proclamation for Commander Michael Flatley for the Yellow Ribbon ceremony. Voted (7-0)

<u>Adjournment</u>:

A motion was made by Mr. Philhower, seconded by Mr. Piteo to adjourn the meeting at 6:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cathy Sirois Recording Secretary