# INDIVIDUAL ASSISTANCE

## **ELIGIBLE COUNTIES:**

- ° Fairfield
- ° New Haven
- ° Middlesex
- ° New London
- ° Windham

## **HOW TO APPLY:**

Residents of declared counties who were impacted by the storm event of March 12 and continuing to May 17, may apply for FEMA disaster assistance by telephone or on-line.

1) To apply by phone, residents can call:

1 -800-621-FEMA (3362)

The TTY line for people with speech or hearing disabilities is (800) 462-7585

## 2) To apply on-line

Applications may also be completed online at <u>www.disasterassistance.gov</u>.

\*\*\*If residents have disaster assistance questions, they may call the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621-3362\*\*

# INFORMATION TO HAVE READY WHEN APPLYING FOR ASSISTANCE:

Whether applying online OR over the phone, an applicant should have a pen and paper and the following information ready:

- Your Social Security number.
- Current and pre-disaster address.
- A telephone number where you can be contacted.
- Insurance information.
- Total household annual income
- A routing and account number from your bank (only necessary if you want to have disaster assistance funds transferred directly into your bank account)
- A description of your losses that were caused by the disaster.
- Directions to your property.

After you've completed your application for assistance, you will receive a **FEMA application number. Write down this number and keep it for future reference.** 

# **DISASTER RECOVERY CENTERS (DRC)**

## **Purpose:**

A Disaster Recovery Center is an accessible facility or mobile office where **applicants may go for information about FEMA or other disaster assistance programs, or for questions related to their case.** 

Some of the services that a DRC may provide include:

- ° Guidance regarding disaster recovery
- ° Clarification of any written correspondence received
- Answers to questions and referrals to agencies that may provide further assistance
- ° Status of applications being processed by FEMA
- ° Small Business Administration (SBA) loan program information

DRC locations are currently being finalized and will be announced – please visit the DEMHS website for updates at <a href="https://www.ct.gov/demhs">www.ct.gov/demhs</a>

# **Eligible Counties**

#### **Fairfield County**

Bethel, Bridgeport, Brookfield, Danbury, Darien, Easton, Fairfield, Greenwich, Monroe, New Canaan, New Fairfield, Newtown, Norwalk, Shelton, Sherman, Stamford, Stratford, Redding, Ridgefield, Trumbull, Weston, Westport, Wilton

#### **Middlesex County**

Chester, Clinton, Cromwell, Deep River, Durham, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, Middlefield, Middletown, Old Saybrook, Portland, Westbrook

### **New Haven County**

Ansonia, Beacon Falls, Bethany, Branford, Cheshire, Derby, East Haven, Guilford, Hamden, Madison, Meriden, Middlebury, Milford, Naugatuck, New Haven, North Branford, North Haven, Orange, Oxford, Prospect, Seymour, Southbury, Wallingford, Waterbury, West Haven, Wolcott, Woodbridge

#### **New London County**

Bozrah, Colchester, East Lyme, Franklin, Griswold, Groton, Lebanon, Ledyard, Lisbon, Lyme, Montville, New London, North Stonington, Norwich, Old Lyme, Preston, Salem, Sprague, Stonington, Voluntown, Waterford

## **Windham County**

Ashford, Brooklyn, Canterbury, Chaplin, Eastford, Hampton, Killingly, Plainfield, Pomfret, Putnam, Scotland, Sterling, Thompson, Windham, Woodstock